Youth Programs

Youth Programs

Youth Tour

Why do electric cooperatives bring high school students to Washington? Because it is important to learn about the political process to interact with your government.

In the summer before their senior year, our local delegates will join more than 1,500 other students from across the country - all-expenses paid - for an incredible week in our nation's capital. The tour is a fast-paced leadership opportunity to see what makes America tick. Crawford Electric and the Association of Missouri Electric Cooperatives sponsor this program. To compete, high school juniors submit a short essay on a selected topic. Nine finalists are invited to a selection event in the spring where they demonstrate co-op knowledge and are interviewed by independent judges. The top three finishers become Crawford Electric's Youth Tour delegates to Washington; the six runners-up are invited to Missouri's Cooperative Youth Conference and Leadership Experience (CYCLE). 

Cooperative Youth Conference & Leadership Experience (CYCLE)

Six local students will learn more about electric cooperatives, Missouri government and leadership skills over three days in Jefferson City. They will join more than 100 Missouri students to debate a bill on the floor of the House of Representatives, participate in team-building activities and be inspired by motivational speakers. 


Talk to your teacher about entering the Youth Tour essay contest! 

Bourbon High School - Trish Lewis
Cuba High School - Julie Munro
Owensville High School - Mable Paquin
St. Clair High School - Maurice Gritzman or Holly Click
Steelville High School - Deb Schuey
Sullivan High School - Katie Galvin
Union High School - Shelby Puls
Viburnum High School - Rebecca Daniels





2019 Missouri Youth Tour



2019 Cooperative Youth Conference & Leadership Experience (CYCLE)




2020 Youth Tour and CYCLE delegates

2019 Youth Tour Delegates

2019 Youth Tour delegates
The 2019 Washington, D.C., Youth Tour delegates for Crawford Electric
Cooperative are (L to R)  Duncan Alcorn of Viburnum High School, Ashlyn Lewis of Bourbon High School and Maggie Brown of Steelville High School,. 


2019 CYCLE Delegates

2019 CYCLE delegates
Crawford Electric Cooperative’s delegates to CYCLE (the Cooperative Youth Conference & Leadership Experience) in Jefferson City in 2019 are (L to R) Hunter Rivera, Steelville; Andrew Davis, Steelville; Candice Alexander, Owensville; Christian Lowes, Owensville; Dillyn Russell, Viburnum.