Skip to main navigation.
Contact Us: 800.677.2667 or 573.732.4415

Youth Tour

Why do electric cooperatives bring high school students to Washington? Because it is important to learn about the political process to interact with your government.

In the summer before their senior year, our local delegates will join hundreds of other students from across the country - all-expenses paid - for an incredible week in our nation's capital. The tour is a fast-paced leadership opportunity to see what makes America tick.

Crawford Electric and the Association of Missouri Electric Cooperatives sponsor this program. To compete, high school juniors submit a short essay on a selected topic. Nine finalists are invited to a selection event in the spring where they demonstrate co-op knowledge and are interviewed by independent judges. The top three finishers become Crawford Electric's Youth Tour delegates to Washington; the six runners-up are invited to Missouri's Cooperative Youth Conference and Leadership Experience (CYCLE).

In June, on the Youth Tour to Washington our delegates join winners from 39 states to network and learn about our nation's capital.

The program was initially implemented at the request of President Lyndon Johnson to "send youngsters to the nation's capital where they can actually see what the flag stands for and represents."


Thank you to the 2018 school coordinators:

Bourbon High School - Trish Lewis
Cuba High School - Julie Munro
Owensville High School - Oleta Rhoads
St. Clair - Alicia Schoonover
Steelville High School - Deborah Schuey
Sullivan High School - Brittany Head
Union High School - Shelby Puls
Viburnum High School - Gretchen Hill and Rebecca Daniels


2017 Youth Tour 





2018 Youth Tour Delegates

Youth Tour delegates

The 2018 Washington, D.C., Youth Tour delegates for Crawford Electric Cooperative are
(L to R) Faith Skaggs of Bourbon High School, Ella Wright of Owensville High School and 
Faith Bair of Steelville High School.



2018 CYCLE Delegates

Crawford Electric Cooperative’s delegates to CYCLE (the Cooperative Youth Conference
& Leadership Experience) are ( L to R)  Madison Brauninger of Sullivan,  Emilie Blum of
Sullivan and  Emily Gargus of Bourbon.



Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo