

DATE: July 14, 2022

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Lots of candidates in Crawford Electric Co-op director election Early voters can win up to \$500 FOR MORE INFORMATION:

Laura Hengstenberg, CCC Direct: 573-679-2014 Cell: 573-680-2453

BOURBON – Six Crawford Electric members have filed nominating petitions for their names to be on the ballot in this year's election to fill three positions on the cooperative's board of directors. There will be a contest for both the District 1 and District 2 seats; the District 3 incumbent director is unopposed in his re-election bid.

When the director candidate petition period closed at 5 p.m. on Wednesday, July 13, the following contests emerged.

Three members will compete for the District 1 seat being vacated by retiring director Ken Crowder of Sullivan. They are Greg Pinnell, Janet Morrow and AJ Bowers, all from the Sullivan area. Pinnell lives on Glaser Road, Morrow lives on Dogwood Blossom Drive, and Bowers lives on East and West Road.

In District 2, first-term incumbent director Jim Biermann filed for re-election; Matt Dudley also filed for that position. Biermann lives on Highway 185, Sullivan; Dudley lives on Essman Dunn Road, Bourbon.

Incumbent director Gary Mullen of Steelville is unopposed for re-election to his District 3 position.

Crawford Electric members will decide the board's makeup and may vote for a candidate in each district, regardless of where the voter lives. The only purpose of the districts is to ensure geographic diversity on the board to better represent the interests of all members across the co-op's five-county service area.

Voting beings during an early voting period, which runs from Aug. 12 through Sept. 12. There also will be a two-hour window for voting at the in-person annual meeting on Sept. 14. The outcome of the contested races will be announced that same day.

"Last year's early voting period saw a big turnout," said Laura Hengstenberg, who organizes the co-op's annual meeting. "It's nice to know we have engaged members who want to participate in the director election," she said.

All early voters will have the chance to win one of more than 50 electric credits – free electricity – ranging from \$10 to \$500. Submitting an early voting ballot enters a co-op member in the prize drawings.

During the early voting period (Aug. 12 - Sept. 12), members may vote using a mail-in ballot, via a secure portal online, or though the SmartHub account management app. To request a mail-in ballot, members should call the co-op's independent voting contractor, Survey & Ballot Systems, at 888-401-0169.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this will be the first in-person annual meeting of members in two years. It will be a morning-only event on Wednesday, Sept. 14, at co-op headquarters, 10301 N. Service Rd., Bourbon. A breakfast will be served. Entertainment and attendance prize drawings also will occur. The business session will convene at 10:30 a.m. and last no longer than one hour.

The official notice of the meeting, which will be mailed to co-op members at the end of August as part of the *Rural Missouri* magazine, will contain further meeting details.

Crawford Electric Cooperative is a member of Touchstone Energy, a national alliance of locally owned, community-minded electric co-ops with high standards of service. Crawford Electric serves about 20,000 meters along almost 3,000 miles of distribution lines in Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade, Washington and Dent counties.

