



10301 N. Service Rd., PO Box 10

Bourbon, MO 65441

573-732-4415

www.crawfordelec.com

DATE: Sept. 1, 2022

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## Crawford Electric encourages early voting; in-person annual meeting still set for Sept. 14

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Laura Hengstenberg, CCC 573-679-2014

BOURBON – The Sept. 12 deadline is fast approaching for Crawford Electric consumer-members to vote early in the co-op's director election. All early voters will be entered into random prize drawings for dozens of electric credits, with a grand prize of \$500 worth of free electricity. There are contested races for two of the three board positions up for election.

Also, for the first time in two years, consumer-members are invited to attend the 82<sup>nd</sup> annual meeting, which is planned for Wednesday, Sept. 14, at co-op headquarters, 10301 N. Service Rd., Bourbon. Members who haven't already voted in the director election will be eligible to vote that morning, 8-10 a.m.

The co-op's board of directors had canceled plans for in-person annual meetings during the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020 and 2021. Voting was handled via remote methods, and official business was recorded and presented online. With no more pandemic restrictions, the on-site meeting has been resumed.

"It will be great to have our members back with us for annual meeting," said Laura Hengstenberg, who organizes the co-op's member meeting. "But, we learned during COVID that our early voting options are very popular, so we've kept that robust process again this year."

Submitting an early-vote ballot enters a co-op member in the prize drawings, Hengstenberg said.

"We also decided that this was the time to make some changes to the way we've always done things at annual meeting," she said.

The 2022 annual meeting will be a morning-only event with a breakfast served from 8-10 a.m. There will be no lunch, and there will be no afternoon session. Entertainment from local band Broken Ridge Revival will occur during breakfast. Attendance prize drawings will also take place that day, mainly between 8 a.m. and 10 a.m. The business session will convene at 10:30 a.m. The meeting will adjourn after the final prize drawing, which is expected to occur no later than 11:30 a.m.

All co-op members received official notice of the meeting in their September *Rural Missouri* magazines. Vehicles will park in fields on the co-op's 60-acre campus, and shuttles will transport attendees to the garage where the meeting will be held.

Early voting this year opened on Aug. 12 and runs through 11:59 p.m., Monday, Sept. 12. Members who have already requested mail-in ballots should use the provided return envelope to send the ballot back to Survey & Ballot Systems (SBS), the co-op's independent voting contractor. Members also may vote using a secure online portal, or through the SmartHub account management app. SBS will handle the random drawing for electric credit winners from among all early voters, regardless of whether the member voted by mail, via the website or by using SmartHub.

Members can vote for one candidate in each of the three district races. District 1 candidates are Greg Pinnell, Janet Morrow, and A.J. Bowers. The District 2 race will be won by either Jim Biermann or Matt Dudley. District 3 director Gary Mullen is unopposed for re-election.

Crawford Electric Cooperative is a member of Touchstone Energy, a national alliance of locally owned, community-minded electric co-ops with high standards of service. Crawford Electric serves about 20,000 meters along almost 3,000 miles of distribution lines in Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade, Washington and Dent counties.