

DATE: June 28, 2022

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE July 13 deadline approaches for Crawford Electric board petitioners District 1 race is for open seat FOR MORE INFORMATION: Laura Hengstenberg, CCC Direct: 573-679-2014

BOURBON – Individuals interested in serving on the Crawford Electric Cooperative board of directors have until 5 p.m. Wednesday, July 13, to submit a nominating petition signed by at least 15 co-op members. The director election will be decided by a vote of the co-op membership, with results announced in conjunction with the annual meeting of members on Sept. 14. This year, the District 1 race will not have an incumbent running since current officeholder Ken Crowder of Sullivan has announced his retirement.

To be a candidate for a position on the board, a person must be a consumer-member of the cooperative whose permanent residence is in the co-op's service territory. In addition, the co-op bylaws list potential conflicts of interest that preclude an individual's candidacy. Candidate information packets are currently available at the co-op office (10301 N. Service Rd., Bourbon) or online at CrawfordElec.com. Members interested in running are encouraged to call the co-op for more information: 800-677-2667.

As a community-focused organization, Crawford Electric Cooperative is led by a board of nine locally elected consumer-members, who understand and listen to the community. The board sets policy and develops long-range goals, always safeguarding the interests of fellow co-op members. Each year, one-third of the board is up for election. The current officeholder in District 1, Ken Crowder of Sullivan, has announced his retirement and will not run this year. The other two incumbents are Jim Biermann of Sullivan (District 2) and Gary Mullen of Steelville (District 3).

To get on the election ballot, a candidate must submit a nominating petition signed by at least 15 co-op members. The petition must be delivered to the co-op office during the official petition period, which runs through the close of business on Wednesday, July 13.

Details on voting and the plans for this year's in-person annual meeting will be made available later in July in the members' newsletter in the *Rural Missouri* magazine and on the co-op's website, www.CrawfordElec.com.

Crawford Electric Cooperative is a member of Touchstone Energy, a national alliance of locally owned, community-minded electric co-ops with high standards of service. Crawford Electric serves about 20,000 meters along almost 3,000 miles of distribution lines in Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade, Washington and Dent counties.